Home Hill News

Seven candidates for Dawson

VOTERS around Australia, including the seat of Dawson, which covers the Home Hill region, will head to the polls on Saturday, May 21, 2022 to elect a new Federal Parliament for the next three-year term.

A total of seven candidates have nominated for the seat, which is based on Mackay, to elect a new member in the House of Representatives to replace retiring LNP member, George Christensen, who is contesting a seat in the Senate this time for the One Nation Party.

The seven candidates for the Dawson electorate (in ballot paper order) are –

  • Andrew Wilcox (LNP);
  • Julie Hall (One Nation);
  • Shane Hamilton (Labor);
  • Jim Jackson (GAP);
  • Christian Young (UAP);
  • Ciaron Paterson (KAP); and
  • Paula Creen (Greens).

The only polling booth in the Home Hill area is at the St Colman‘s Catholic School in Eleventh Avenue.

There are two booths in Ayr and one in Giru.