Home Hill News

Nominate now for Shire’s 2024 top citizen

Burdekin Shire Citizen of the Year Gerald Henaway

NOMINATIONS are being sought by the Burdekin Shire Council for the 2024 Shire Australia Day Awards.

The awards are presented on Australia Day each year to acknowledge and celebrate the extraordinary contributions and accomplishments of individuals and groups within the Burdekin community.

Award categories range from sporting, cultural and environmental achievements to stand-out community events, dedication to volunteering and the principal titles of Citizen of the Year and Young Citizen of the Year.

Mayor Lyn McLaughlin said the Australia Day Awards recognise members of the community who have made an outstanding contribution to the Burde-kin and stands as a monument to pay tribute to their selfless endeavours.

Cr McLaughlin encouraged the community to actively participate by nominating individuals or groups who deserve recognition for their outstanding efforts.

“The Burdekin is fortunate to be home to many individuals and this is an opportunity to express our gratitude for their invaluable contributions that often go unnoticed,” she said.

“Nominations are open to the public and forms can be found on Council’s website.”

Nominations for the Council’s 2024 Australia Day Awards are now open and will close on Wednesday, December 6 at 5pm.

Download a nomination form at https://bit.ly/AusDayBDK or for more information, phone Council on 07 4783 9800.